February 08, 2019
State legislatures are back in business, with New Jersey enacting $15 minimum wage legislation that contains no mechanism for adjusting wage increases in the event of a recession.
New Jersey’s minimum wage will increase from $8.85 to $10.00 per hour on July 1 of this year, and by one dollar more on every subsequent January 1 until 2024, when the wage will reach $15.
The law contains no means to change course in the event of an economic downturn, a provision that is present in California, the District of Columbia, and New York’s respective $15 per hour measures but is absent in Massachusetts'.
Just the beginning: According to the WPI State of the States report, most state legislatures are back in session and more than 1,000 labor and employment bills have been submitted in state capitals since January 1, 2019.